24 JUNE 2017, 11:28 PM
The winter of my heart has caught me unawares. I did not see the days March steadily onwards, nor feel the summer breeze cool into a chilly wind. I did not see the autumn leaves turn golden. Each day was filled with beauty, and surely there were many more to come. Could I have known that winter’s wind would ravishing all I had? Could I have seen the beauty turn to bleakness? What heart is it, who could prepare for that? And so, the winter of my heart has caught me unawares.

It came upon me swift and sudden, creeping in as silent as the footsteps of a cat. I did not see it coming. Its approach was not given me to see, and for that I am truly thankful. Who would want to know that summer’s splendor could twist into bleakness, and barrenness, and chill?
But there is beauty even in the bleakness, and there are lessons only learned in winter. Though the days stretched out, long and cold, and though at times it seemed never to end, slowly slowly, comes the healing of the spring.
At times, I think the winter’s harshness will give way to spring, and then again come frozen days of wind and snow. Spring seems a fading dream. But in the end, I know the gentle spring will triumph over winter’s grip. And though the soul cannot forget the winter’s harshness, it will treasure so much more the sunshine of the spring. For there are lessons only learned in winter.
So now I lift my eyes, long dimmed by winter’s cold, up to the sunshine. And my long -frozen heart must melt beneath it’s warmth. A song of praise rises to him who sent my winter. For in the winter of my heart, He gave me grace; and at the winter’s end, He sent the spring. Somehow this bleak and cold has broken, has melted, and winter played a part in making me whole.

Leave a Reply

